Commercial

D6eAoQGEYu4

Piknic Électronik Montréal  |  

The creators of the iconic Montréal event have a fun, laid-back, open space to call HQ



How do you make the most of the practicality of an open-concept office without letting background noise become a nuisance? Piknic HQ tackles precisely this dilemma with three strategies to reduce noise at the source: multiple set back areas where people can gather casually, semi-open executive offices and a variety of small closed meeting rooms.

With its services arranged outside the central core, this layout accommodates the largest number of people. Numerous workstations line the windows, offering plenty of natural light and a sweeping view over the Jardin des possibles. Closed meeting rooms and administrative offices are arranged along the outer edges to keep the open area quiet and peaceful.
Co-workers can enjoy a chat over a meal at the long bar-style counter in the lunchroom. A large serving hatch with cabinets, top and bottom, hides all the kitchen tools and implements. Seated comfortably at the counter, the team has an unobstructed view of the open office.

At the heart of the vast space are four semi-open executive offices made from local poplar plywood and translucent polycarbonate for each of the founding partners. These compact, practical micro-offices have an integrated work desk and a small sit-down table in solid maple. A large pane slides open, looking onto the workspace for convenient team collaboration.

Between the four executive offices, a modular system of poufs and bent steel tables with countless configuration options acts as a casual spot for people to gather. This versatile space lends itself well to all sorts of activities, including friendly chit-chat, team meetings, group training, screenings, conferences, cocktail receptions and why not…a piknic between friends!

Architecture |  L. McComber

Team  |  David Grenier, Olivier Lord, Philip Staszewski et Laurent McComber

Construction  |  Construction Mathieu Champagne


Location  |  Mile-End, Montréal

Year  |  2016

Superficie  |  5 020 pc

Photography  |  Raphaël Thibodeau

Commercial

D6eAoQGEYu4

Piknic Électronik Montréal  |  

Les créateurs de l’évènement iconique montréalais s’offrent un quartier général ouvert, festif et convivial.



Comment profiter de la convivialité d’un bureau à aire ouverte sans subir les nuisances des sons ambiants? Le QG des Piknic adresse précisément cette question en mettant de l’avant trois stratégies réduisant les bruits à la source : multiplier les aires de rencontres informelles en retrait, créer des bureaux exécutifs semi-ouverts et offrir une variété de petites salles de rencontres fermées.

Avec ses services en périphérie, la disposition d’ensemble profite au plus grand nombre. Les nombreux postes de travail longent les fenêtres offrant lumière naturelle abondante et vue en plongée sur le Jardin des possibles. Les salles de rencontre fermées et l’administration sont répartis en périphérie pour préserver la quiétude de l’aire ouverte.

La cantine avec sa longue table réfectoire invite les travailleurs à casser la croute en bonne compagnie. Un grand passe plat derrière le comptoir dissimule les nombreux équipements de la cuisine. Confortablement attablée, l’équipe profite d’une vue imprenable sur l’aire ouverte.

Au cœur de ce vaste espace, quatre bureaux exécutifs accueillent chacun des associé-fondateurs dans des volumes semi ouverts faits de contreplaqué de peuplier local et de polycarbonate translucide. Micro-bureaux compacts, ces espaces pratiques disposent d’un plan de travail intégré et d’une petite table basse en érable massif. Un grand volet s’ouvre sur l’aire de travail et favorise les échanges avec l’équipe.

Entre les quatre boîtes exécutives, une aire commune accueille des rencontres informelles grâce à un système modulaire de poufs et de tables d’acier plié offrant une multitude de configurations. Polyvalent, cet espace se prête à l’organisation d’activités les plus diverses : conversations improvisées, rencontres d’équipe, formations de groupe, projections, conférences, réceptions-apéro et pourquoi pas… un pique-niques entre amis!

Pour en savoir plus, lire le texte intégral.

Architecture |  L. McComber

Team  |  David Grenier, Olivier Lord, Philip Staszewski et Laurent McComber

Construction  |  Construction Mathieu Champagne


Location  |  Mile-End, Montréal

Year  |  2016

Superficie  |  5 020 pc

Photography  |  Raphaël Thibodeau