Commercial

Beta Bloc  |  

The West Island’s first climbing gym comes to life in an old metal workshop



Climbing has changed quite significantly in recent years. Increasingly accessible, the sport attracts more and more enthusiasts every year. To meet demand, four young climbers founded Beta Bloc in 2016 with the aim of opening a no-rope, no-harness climbing gym in a sector of Montréal new to this type of activity: the West Island.

The location, an old metal workshop, is expansive, almost monumentally so. Empty and practically desolate with its nearly 20-foot-high exposed steel framing and huge 14,000 ft2 concrete slab, it was waiting for a new purpose to come to life. The climbing walls are set up along the edges of the space. Standing 15 feet high, they offer climbers a variety of angles and grips in bright colours.

In contrast, the inner architecture uses a more subdued palette: raw plywood and spruce planks form the slatted bulkheads and built-in furniture. The large reception desk in the centre links the gym’s three main zones: the climbing walls, the workout space and the coffee bar. Its angular geometry picks up from the angles of the walls. The gym’s bright turquoise walls create an energetic, familiar atmosphere fitting of this young venture. At Beta Bloc, they climb strong!

Architecture |  L. McComber – architecture vivante

Team  |  Olivier Lord, David Grenier, Philip Staszewski et Laurent McComber

Consultants  |   Latéral conseil — structure, Stéphanie Corriveau & Étienne Guinard — built-in furniture

Construction  |   Progestion T L, Ébénisterie Art-Déco


Location  |  Dorval, QC

Year  |  2016

Superficie  |  14000 sf

Photography  |  Raphaël Thibodeau

Commercial

Beta Bloc  |  

Le premier centre d’escalade de l’Ouest de l’Île prend vie dans un ancien atelier de métal



La pratique de l’escalade a beaucoup évolué dernièrement. De plus en plus accessible, le sport compte chaque année plus d’adeptes. Pour répondre à la demande, quatre jeunes grimpeurs fondent Beta Bloc en 2016 avec l’objectif d’ouvrir un centre d’escalade sans corde ni harnais dans un secteur de Montréal jamais encore desservi par ce type d’activité : le West Island.

Le lieu investi, un ancien atelier de métal, est vaste, quasi monumental. Vide et presque désolant avec sa charpente d’acier apparente à près de 20’ de haut et sa vaste dalle de béton de 14 000 pc, il attendait un nouvel usage pour prendre vie. C’est en périphérie de l’espace que les parois d’escalade sont installées. Hautes de 15 pieds, elles offrent aux grimpeurs une variété d’angles et de prises aux couleurs vives.

En contraste, l’architecture intérieure utilise une palette plus sobre : contreplaqué brut et madriers d’épinette forment les cloisons ajourées des services et les finitions du mobilier intégré. Pivot central, le grand comptoir d’accueil tisse un lien entre les trois zones principales du centre : escalade, entraînement et café. Sa géométrie anguleuse reprend celle des parois. Avec le turquoise éclatant des parois, le centre émane une ambiance énergique et familiale propre à la jeune entreprise. Chez Beta Bloc, on grimpe!

Architecture |  L. McComber — architecture vivante

Team  |  Olivier Lord, David Grenier, Philip Staszewski et Laurent McComber

Consultants  |   Latéral conseil — structure, Stéphanie Corriveau et Étienne Guinard — mobilier

Construction  |   Progestion T L, Ébénisterie Art-Déco


Location  |  Dorval, QC

Year  |  2016

Superficie  |  14000 pc

Photography  |  Raphaël Thibodeau