Single family

Des Écailles  |  

Two single-family semi-detached residences bring greater density to Rue des Écores in Montreal’s Villeray neighbourhood.



For 60 years, this triple lot accommodated a single-family detached residence, garage and immense parking space. The promoter purchased the land and divided it into three distinct lots, each accommodating a single-family residence.
The first development phase is comprised of two semi-detached residences bordered by an alley to the North. Aligned with the street, the facades offer a sober massing of dark clay brick, with entrances set back from the street and highlighted by a light natural cedar siding. The horizontality of the brick volume is marked by a frieze composed of oblique protruding bricks, creating a scale-like texture. The theme continues in the back with an inverse composition: the brick base transitions to a second-storey featuring a light volume of cedar arranged in a series of vertical sections in sawtooth formation.
Inside, the garage articulates a series of split-levels above which is located an office clad in tongue and groove ash, opening onto a two-storey living room. These volumes are linked by a stairway, with a white painted plywood balustrade that forms the central cheek wall supporting open solid ash risers. This pathway ends in a kitchen that generously opens onto a garden bathed in southern light.

Architecture |  L.McComber ltée

Team  |  Olivier Lord, David Grenier, Laurent McComber

Construction  |  Nicora


Location  |  Villeray, Montreal

Year  |  2014

Photography  |  Raphaël Thibodeau

Unifamilial

Des Écailles  |  

Deux maisons unifamiliales jumelées densifient la rue des Écores dans le quartier Villeray à Montréal.



Ce triple lot était habité depuis une soixantaine d’années par une résidence unifamiliale détachée, son garage et un vaste stationnement. En faisant l’acquisition du terrain, le promoteur le divise en trois lots distincts accueillant chacun une résidence unifamiliale.

La première phase du développement est constituée de deux maisons jumelles bordées d’une ruelle au Nord. Implantées dans l’alignement dominant de la rue, les façades offrent une volumétrie sobre constituée d’une masse de brique d’argile foncée dont les entrées en retrait sont soulignées par un parement de cèdre naturel clair. L’horizontalité du volume de maçonnerie est marquée d’une frise dont les briques en saillie oblique forment une texture semblable à des écailles. À l’arrière, le thème se poursuit avec une composition inversée : le soubassement en brique porte à l’étage un volume léger de cèdre formé d’une série de sections verticales en dents de scie.

À l’intérieur, le garage articule un jeu de demi-niveaux au-dessus duquel un bureau habillé de frêne embouveté s’ouvre sur un salon double hauteur. L’ensemble est lié par un escalier dont le garde-corps de contreplaqué peint blanc forme le limon central sur lequel s’appuient des marches en frêne massif ajourées. Le parcours se termine sur une cuisine généreusement ouverte sur le jardin baignée de la lumière du sud.

Architecture |  L.McComber ltée

Team  |  Olivier Lord, David Grenier, Laurent McComber

Construction  |  Nicora


Location  |  Villeray, Montréal

Year  |  2014

Photography  |  Raphaël Thibodeau